The Two Types of Creativity

Creativity2

To read the PDF text version to this post, click here.

11 thoughts on “The Two Types of Creativity

  1. Lovely Aalif! Thanks for sharing:-) Being an artist myself, even I have to remind myself every now and then to move away from an external locus of control to allow creativity to flow from my heart 🙂

  2. Creativity, for me, is definitely the latter. I find so little time to spend on my drawings, but when I do, that’s when I feel truly relaxed and content with myself. I never draw because I feel that I have to. I always draw when the moment takes me, or I get a sudden rush of inspiration!
    However, I am currently uncertain whether I will still have a job by the end of this week, as our libraries undergo a review necessitating some closures.
    Will I have to resort to selling my artwork? Is it even good enough?
    Hopefully, I won’t have to reach such a decision and my art will be purely for my pleasure and that of my friends and acquaintances.
    I hope that you always enjoy your creativity and never have to question your motives for being creative.
    Continue to share your work for others like me to appreciate 🙂

    • Thanks so much. And I hope you find a resolution to your job issue. One of the lines of GD that always ground me is the remembrance that ‘there is no such thing as a mistake in life – only limited vision.’ 🙂

      • Hello again
        Since my post above, you may be pleased to hear that my job is safe (at least for the next 2 years) and I will not have to resort to selling my sketches for a living LOL However, it might have been fun finding out how much people were prepared to pay for a drawing of Shah Rukh Khan and I might have enjoyed the challenge of something new. C’est la vie!
        However, it has made me re-evaluate my life and now I’m considering looking for other opportunities in life while I still have the security of my current job.
        BTW, if you would like to see my latest sketch, here’s a link to the page on my Blog.
        You were good enough to comment on a previous sketch of mine.

        http://misty45l.tumblr.com/post/61148033922/ramblings-of-a-demented-iamsrk-fan-art-work-hny

        Kindest regards
        Linda (@42Lintilla) Misty45l.tumblr.com

  3. Oh I love this!!! Is it because my day job in the film biz leaves me feeling burnt out, and other forms of creativity that I do make me feel energized? Something resonates so well for me here…
    Thanks Aalif!!!

Leave a Reply

