It’s Liebster Time, My Beloveds!

crazy-bald-guru-holds-guitar-over-white-background

Have been busy with two film releases for the past week and missing the quiet company of bloggers within the excitement of the film world. Will be back with new insights & cartoons from GD & me this week! In the meantime, happy to have been conferred a Liebster Award from lovely Pavithra of secondattemptinblogging. The name of this award comes from a German word “Liebster” which means ‘Dearest’, ‘Favorite’ or ‘Beloved’ and has been going around since 2010. Sweet!

liebster-awardRules:
1.     Write random facts about yourself.
2.     Answer the 11 questions given by the person nominated you.
3.     Fabricate 11 new questions.
4.     Nominate 11 bloggers with under 200 (or 300) followers and mention them in your post. 
5.     Tell the person who nominated you, along with the people whom you have nominated. 
 

Random Facts about me:

  1. I used to pretend to read palms in college so I could hold pretty girls’ hands. I had worked out a few stock sentences (“you care for others more than they care for you”) which I realized almost everyone believes are true!
  2.  I am a pickle-fanatic. Have around six different types at any given time at home.
  3. I love my mac products – ipod, ipad, iphone & macbook pro.
  4. I stopped reading fiction for almost 15 years in between.
  5. I don’t know how to drive a car. Embarrassing, but true. Fortunately, I have a fantastic driver.  

Here are my answers to Parvathy’s questions:
  1.  What is that one thing you will not give up in your life?
    – From teenage to middle-age, it seems that meditation is a constant. Haven’t given up yet!
  2. Which is your favorite restaurant?
    – Saravana Bhavan in Chennai. Lucky to have a job that requires me to be in Chennai once a week! 
  3. What is the one vegetable you cannot live without?
    – Potato. Potato. Potato. No question about that.
  4. What is that one recipe you hate the most?
    – Nothing really. Anything with karela (gourd) probably. 
  5. What is your favorite movie in the comedy genre?
    – Bruce Almighty. Can watch it ad infinitum.
  6. Which is the best city to live in the world?
    – For me and my wife, London has a strong past-life calling. I can find my way around there even to places I have not been to before. Everything feels so familiar. 
  7. Share a cute or daring memory from your childhood.
    – At age 10, got an adult video tape (…Conan The Barbarian!) telling the library clerk my ‘uncle’ wanted to see it.
  8. Do you know how to dance or sing 🙂
    – I break-danced professionally at weddings when I was a teenager. I sing in E Flat so I have stopped by popular demand. 
  9. What is that one thing you would want to teach the world?
    – How to go within and find peace.
  10. Whose name comes to your mind when you think of optimism?
    – My wife.
  11. Name a famous personality who is strong, determined & admirable
    – Shah Rukh Khan & Will Smith
Here are the lovely blogs I want you all to check out! To my liebster bloggers: if you have over 200 or 300 followers, my bad. I think your blog is amazing so you can do it anyway!
  1. Yaz Rooney of Free Your Mind
  2. Angela of LA Screenwriterliebsters2
  3. Margaret of Life As Improv
  4. Miriam of This Unlit Light
  5. Kozo of Everyday Gurus
  6. Meg of IStopForSuffering
  7. Zen Doe of The Wind Horse Blog
  8. Kai of SmallPebbles
  9. Howstrait of The Gait
  10. Sarah of Through The Looking Glass
  11. Katalina of Follow Your Nose
 
And here are my 11 questions:
  1. What is your favorite movie which has a spiritual theme or message?
  2. Which book has influenced your life the most? 
  3. Is there any current line/mantra that works for you whenever you remember it?
  4. A childhood friend/lover who you wished you knew where they were now?
  5. One quality you wished you had more of?
  6. Your single most favorite blog post ever (either your own or another’s) that you feel everyone should read.
  7. The spiritual teacher who has inspired you the most?
  8. Your escapist fantasy life looks like…?
  9. The one addiction you wish you could get rid of.
  10. On your last day on earth you would…?
  11. Your favourite city in the world is…?

Thank you all for reading and for inspiring me. Your feedback and comments are nourishment for my enthusiasm to create and share even more with you.

15 thoughts on “It’s Liebster Time, My Beloveds!

  1. Aalif:: When did I become Parvathy?? 🙂
    Anyways, Congratulations & It was lovely reading random facts & the answers to my questions.
    Also if you like comedy genre, in specific “British comedy”, you should watch 2007 film “Death at a Funeral” – it is a comedy riot.

  2. Thank you so much Aalif! I like your questions, too. I’ll get round to that one shortly! And thanks for sharing yourself through Pavithra’s questions…very interesting indeed!

  3. Love the break dancing detail! And also the admiration for Will Smith – I have a soft spot for him too, so sure of himself. Thanks so much for the nomination Aalif!

  4. Congratulations Aalif, and thank you so very much for nominating the wind horse blog! I’m looking forward to checking out the other blogs you’ve nominated.

  5. Fantastic questions you’ve made…they sort of lead you to a tete a tete with yourself. And this is a Godsend, especially if one has been avoiding one’s self for a while… 🙂
    Very beautiful blogs you’ve shared with us…Thank you very much 🙂

    • Thanks Dysa… I realized that everyone frames questions according to their likes. Pavithra, who gave me the award, had questions about food! 🙂 LOL

Leave a Reply

