My Top 7 “Getting-Out-Of-The-Jungle’ Processes

Getting Out of the Jungle of Thoughts

Many friends connect with my mentor GD’s insights on the blog and experience flashbulb moments of deep clarity and illumination. But soon, they confess, they are once again swept away by the momentums of daily life. “But what do I do?” they ask me, “It is so easy to get carried away!”

Last week, one of my favorite bloggers, the irrepressible Yaz, requested me to ask GD the infamous seeker question: “I so get it… but what to DO?” When I spoke to GD, he asked me to share a post I had worked on a few months ago but never posted. When I re-read it now, I realize it is a subject relevant not only to Yaz but to almost everyone on this blog.

While there is incalculable value in glimpsing the ‘open sky’, when one feels lost in the dark jungle of thoughts and emotions, it is helpful to have systems which methodically and consistently put us back on track.

Over the years, GD has explored and shared dozens of ‘clearing’ systems with us. These are the seven which have made the shortlist, stood the test of time and stay with me even today. These are not meditations, but they all clear the path for it. They methodically untie the knots, big and small, that hold us in the grip of conflict and chaos. And best of all, once learned, they can be done by yourself.

To make it easy for you, I have provided links for all of them. I would encourage you to explore whatever resonates with you… and incorporate into your lives and your iPods.

  • The Sedona Method: A gentle system created by Lester Levenson in the 1960s. It encourages letting go. Since Lester’s demise, the torch has been carried on by his students Hale Dwoskin and Larry Crane. Though it is said that half the spiritual teachers on ‘The Secret’ have used this method, it remains under the radar. Their ‘Good Morning’ & ‘Good Night’ meditations are on my ‘Top 25 Most Played’ playlist.
  • The Work: A method of self-enquiry developed by Byron Katie that needs only a pen, a paper and an open heart. It encourages you to identify the thoughts (which she calls ‘stories’) that cause the suffering and question them on paper. It took me a few tries to get the hang of it, but once it clicked, it’s proven a life-saver for almost a decade now. I love that it doesn’t give you any answers, but only asks questions to help you find them for yourself.
  • Donna Eden’s ‘Energy Medicine’: A simple set of energetic exercises developed by Donna Eden. These are physical exercises to stimulate the blocked meridians and smoothen broken energy flows. Guaranteed pick-me-up within 15 minutes or less, mind not required.
  • Emotion Freedom Technique (EFT): A relatively famous system developed Gary Craig that rebalances the body’s energy system by tapping on key energy meridian points which are blocked or disrupted. Verbal ‘scripts’ along with the tapping help focus healing on specific issues. GD’s friend Sangeeta Bhagwat works primarily with EFT and has given many scripts on her blog for free.
  • ZPoint: An indigenous system developed by Grant Connolly to release sub-conscious emotional triggers associated with traumatic memories, relationships or life situations. All you have to do is to embed a ‘key word or phrase’ into your subconscious and repeat it while Grant Connolly guides you through the process.
  • Access Consciousness: Founded by Gary Douglas, the system is most famous for ‘pod-pocking’ after its curious clearing statement ‘good-bad-right-wrong-pod-poc-all-nine-boys-shorts-and-beyond’. But the many, many tools it provides work and my wife Aditi loves the system so much, she decided to become a trained Access Consciousness facilitator.
  • Emotrance: Developed by Dr. Silvia Hartmann in the mid-1990s, this system deals directly with the physical manifestations of stuck energy in the body. So you work not on sadness, but on where it is showing up in your body. And guide it to dissolve and exit the body. So simple a four-year-old can learn it.

I hope that, thanks to the question asked by Yaz, you all can incorporate the magical support of these systems into your life.

7 thoughts on “My Top 7 “Getting-Out-Of-The-Jungle’ Processes

  1. Thanks so much for this Aalif! What a great list. I’m well familiar with Byron Katie and I watched an EFT video once, but don’t know much about it or the other techniques on the list. I’ll go and have a look and see which of them bite. I hope your son is feeling better. Lots of love to you and you can always give GD an extra cuddle for me!

  2. Thanks Aalif 🙂 as you know, GD and I have exchanged notes on many clearing systems and I now use many tools other than EFT with my clients. Yet, EFT remains one of my recommended methods because of the ease with which clients can be taught to use it for themselves. Always good to provide an empowering tool! Would like to add that those looking for a comprehensive book, can have a look at my ‘Emotional Freedom Techniques’.
    Thanks for putting up this great list and including my link 🙂

  3. Hi Aalif. This is an exciting page and I can hardly wait to try out one by one….. thank you for sharing the magic – I learn so much from you!

    • Thanks! We all learn from others and pay it forward… 🙂

      PS Do identify yourself if you are comfortable with it, else I feel like I’m trying to look into the eyes of someone wearing dark sunglasses!

Leave a Reply

