A Big Hug & A Little Silence

A little reminder for all those spending time with family this festival season. What our loved ones need from us may be much simpler than we think. I wrote this for my mother, but it’s true for all our intimate relationships so clouded with projections and old wounds that we try everything to fix them. Except a little simple heartful acceptance.

365:114 Finger-crossed lovers.We flow into each other, like water.
Your sorrows become my sorrows.
And your hurts become my crosses.

We flow as one, my love.
I can’t leave you behind even if I want to.

I strain to break free
I try to tune out
I make you a joke
I spiritualize your pain
I explain and convince,
But in the end, I see
what you need is only
a big hug and a little silence

Image Used Under
Creative Commons Via Mind on Fire

11 thoughts on “A Big Hug & A Little Silence

  1. Pingback: Silence « Angies Scratch Pad

Leave a Reply

