The Ever-Present Answer

This little ‘poem’ is based on something GD said on a phone call. The mind, he said, is always looking for that one spiritual answer, that one final insight which will satisfy us permanently. But every mental answer only leads to more questions, and every amazing insight fades in time.

The real answer, GD reminded me, is not in words. It is not a combination of words or sentences that will free us, it is this presence-awareness from which all words arise. This has stayed with me for many months now, a useful reminder when I get too obsessed with seeking knowledge outside instead of resting in the knowing that I am.

Monk Image used under Creative Commons Free To Adapt Pictures by Gane

14 thoughts on “The Ever-Present Answer

    • Strangely Meenu, I was remembering this quote while I was writing this post. For those who don’t understand: “The fabled musk deer searches the world over for the source of the scent which comes from itself.” Isn’t it amazing how the Truth is the same, but every generation needs to hear it in new ways?

    • Glad it resonated for you… GD came up with a concept for a cartoon of a disciple asking the master: “Master, I have a question.” And the master replies: “And why do you need to answer it.” I loved it but thought it would be too subtle… πŸ™‚

  1. I’ve given up these ‘intellectual’ pursuits of God. I find it peaceful these days to just cave in to my ignorance. Though sometimes i’m tempted to be the clever one with all the answers…I wish GD lived next door to me! He could give me a slap every now and then.

  2. I totally agree. I have seen this clearly and early.
    When the answer is realized phenomenally, we see that there were never a question, just a misunderstanding. But the answer is always there.

Leave a Reply

