Reader Appreciation Award

Reena who writes the blog YogawithMaheshwari nominated me over the weekend for my first blog award so I truly appreciate it. Her blog was one of the first I found when I entered this brave new world three months ago. And it remains amongst my favorites for her simplicity and honest sharing.

Recipients of the award are asked to:

  1. Identify the awards and who gave them to you.
  2. Post the Logo on your blog.
  3. Share 7 items about yourself.
  4. Nominate 5-10 other bloggers to receive this award, and notify them on their blogs.

Here’s some of my favourite blogs, ones that inspire me, and change my early perception that blogging was about lonely people writing about their shopping trips.

  1. Serene Reflection – by Sangeeta Bhagwat, a friend of GD and one of the people who kicked me off the corporate-life plateau.
  2. Jillian Kermani – her humor has a serious depth, her poems have a wry humor.
  3. Our Eternal Consciousness – Deepti G Gujar’s sharing of wisdom and processes. I like.
  4. Awareness – Paul doesn’t accept awards. But I would still like to introduce anyone reading this to his awesome advaita blog.
  5. Transition to Balance – lovely little life hacks and wisdom by the beautiful Yuliya
  6. Coevolve With Kiran – another beautiful therapist and friend of GD.
  7. Luxeternele – inspired creative writing and poems

Here’s 7 things about myself:

  1. I am “directionally-challenged” in real life: my wife jokes that if she takes me down a one-way street and spins me around three times, I won’t be able to find my way out.
  2. I started my career drawing newspaper editorial cartoons for Rs 25 (50 cents) when I was in college. My last full-time job was as Creative and Production head for 20th Century Fox India. How I got there I have no idea.
  3. At one point in the ’80s, I break-danced professionally for weddings.
  4. In my 20s, I quit my career and left the city to become a full-time sannyasi. A few years later, my guru sent me back saying I still had a lot of karma to complete!
  5. My father is a national-award winning author, painter and cartoonist. He created India’s first comic superhero in the ’70s. He is also a superhero in real life.
  6. My wife and I got married wearing matching Superman t-shirts. Just for the fun of it.
  7. When my son Nirvaan was born in 2009, my wife and I felt it would be nice if he did not have any ‘religion’ on his birth certificate. We took it up with the municipal authorities and succeeded in having it that way. Possibly the first in India.

Thank you all who have read my blog so far. Even more than I reader’s appreciation award, I would like to offer a heartfelt writer’s appreciation award to all of you who have spent precious internet-time on something without sex or violence. I truly hope this blog can fulfill its intention of being an honest and fun sharing of the ideas and creations that are life-changing for me.

5 thoughts on “Reader Appreciation Award

  1. OMG! Such an amazing post…had me smiling from one ear to another as I sit in this corporate office unable to work! 🙂
    And Merci! this will kick off the 85th post on my blog…what can I say but Thank You? 🙂
    Lots of love

  2. Thank you very much Aalif!!

    There is no doubt that yours is one of the blogs I truly enjoy … so please accept my heart felt appreciation and gratitude for jumping off that cliff 😉

    much love

Leave a Reply

