Beyond the Everyday Dream

At dawn I return with fragments of an enchanted world,

like snatches of a half-forgotten song.

And set about becoming me-of-this-reality again.

So I brush the dreams out of my hair

And wash the lingering images from my eyes

And get ready for another day in exile

from the kingdom of infinite possibility.

 

At dusk, I return home with shards of my workday

Like jagged knives stuck in my back.

And set about erasing all of this reality.

So I bathe to wash the city’s chaos off my body

And vegetate with a tv to dull the remaining images from my eyes

And get ready to return to forgetfulness,

to the kingdom of infinite possibility.

 

And what is beyond both? the master whispered.

Everything you do from dawn to dusk, he said,

how completely it will disappear in deep sleep.

Even kingdoms of infinite possibility? I asked

Even you, he replied. Look around,

whatever you see is temporary, momentary…

Like a passing dream? I asked.

Yes, he smiled, and stop imagining that the dream is yours.

2 thoughts on “Beyond the Everyday Dream

  1. …-:) i totally love how simply it gets to the soul, your words are beautiful Aalif 🙂 they whisper like hymns telling the stories from the heart..and yes, i like it..thumbs up poet 🙂

Leave a Reply

